Press / Events

August 18, 2017
Speaker at Writer's Digest Annual Conference
Panel: "Writing about Yesterday, Today: The Art & Business of Historical Fiction," featuring Nancy Bilyeau, Crystal King, Heather Webb, Lauren Willig & Stephanie Cowell
New York Hilton Midtown
New York, NY
10:15 AM

October 14, 2017
Appearance at the Brooklyn Public Library
Cortelyou Road Library
1305 Cortelyou Road
Brooklyn, NY
3 PM

November 4, 2017
Panelist for "A Mysterious Affair in Princeton"
Robert Solley Theatre, located in the Arts Council of Princeton
Princeton, NJ
1-5 PM

Earlier Events:

July 15, 2017
Thrillerfest
Panel: "Medieval, Victorian Or Ice Age? Bringing History Alive," featuring Panel Master Nancy Bilyeau, Kay Kendall, Susan Elia MacNeal, Michael Mayo, William Burton McCormick, Alison McMahan & Ann Parker
Grand Hyatt
New York, NY
3:20 PM

July 12, 2017
Grip-Lit
Hosting a conversation with J.A. Jance, Hallie Ephron, Wendi Corsi Staub & Sheena Kamal
Bryant Park
New York, NY
12:30 PM

April 30, 2017
Reading at Queens Lit Fest
Long Island City, LIC Landing
Hunters Point South Park
Long Island City, Queens
2 PM

April 5, 2017
Moderator: Mystery Writers of America-New York panel discussion
"From Book to Big Screen: How Fiction Makes it to Film"
Panel members: Lorenzo Carcaterra, Joshua James, Peter Blauner & Kimberly McCreight
Club Quarters Hotel
40 West 45th Street
New York, NY

January 24, 2017
"Getting Into Print"
Historical Novel Society Panel Discussion, featuring Nancy Bilyeau, Stephanie Cowell, Christina Britton Conroy, Faith L. Justice, Ursula Renée
Jefferson Market Library
425 Sixth Avenue at West 10th Street, in the first-floor Willa Cather Room
New York, NY
6-8 PM

Sunday, September 18, 2016
Brooklyn Book Festival
Brooklyn, NY
Mystery Writers of America booth

Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Presentation for Monmouth/Ocean CSE Alumnae Chapter Luncheon: "Women of Mystery"
Shewsbury, NJ
1 PM

Saturday, July 16, 2016
Reading at Queens Lit Fest
Mystery Writers of America
Long Island City, LIC Landing
Hunters Point South Park
Long Island City, Queens
1 PM

Saturday, July 9, 2016
Panel moderator and book signing at Thrillerfest: "Medieval, Renaissance or World War II? Historical Fiction"
Grand Hyatt
New York, NY
1 PM

Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Author lecture on 16th century tapestries and art
The Boston Athenæum
Boston, MA
Noon

 

Praise for THE TAPESTRY:

The Tapestry by Nancy Bilyeau“Nancy Bilyeau's passion for history infuses her books and transports us back to the dangerous world of Tudor England. Vivid characters and gripping plots are at the heart of this wonderful trilogy, and this third book will not fail to thrill readers. Warmly recommended!”
—Alison Weir, author of The Marriage Game

“Illuminated by Bilyeau’s vivid prose, minor players of Tudor England emerge from the shadows.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A supremely deft, clever and pacy entertainment. This is Nancy Bilyeau's most thrilling—and enlightening—novel in the Joanna Stafford series yet.”
—Andrew Pyper, author of The Demonologist and The Damned

“A master of atmosphere, Nancy Bilyeau imbues her novel with a sense of dread and oppression lurking behind the royal glamour; in her descriptions and characterizations... Bilyeau breathes life into history.”
—Laura Andersen, author of The Boleyn King

“In The Tapestry, Nancy Bilyeau brilliantly captures both the white-hot religious passions and the brutal politics of Tudor England. It is a rare book that does both so well.”
—Sam Thomas, author of The Midwife’s Tale

“In spite of murderous plots, volatile kings, and a divided heart, Joanna Stafford manages to stay true to her noble character. Fans of Ken Follett will devour Nancy Bilyeau’s novel of political treachery and courageous love, set amid the endlessly fascinating Tudor landscape.”
—Erika Robuck, author of Hemingway’s Girl

“These aren't your mother's nuns! Nancy Bilyeau has done it again, giving us a compelling and wonderfully realized portrait of Tudor life in all its complexity and wonder. A nun, a tapestry, a page-turning tale of suspense: this is historical mystery at its finest.”
—Bruce Holsinger, author of A Burnable Book and The Invention of Fire

 

Praise for THE CHALICE:

The Chalice by Nancy Bilyeau“English history buffs and mystery fans alike will revel in Nancy Bilyeau's richly detailed sequel to THE CROWN.”
Parade

“Bilyeau sends her plucky former novice back into the intrigue-laden court of Henry VIII.”
Entertainment Weekly

“Nancy Bilyeau's Ellis Peters Historical Award-nominated novel THE CROWN and its sequel THE CHALICE are set during the turbulence of 1538 and the dissolution of the monasteries. Her heroine Joanna Stafford is a young novice caught up in power struggles familiar to readers of Hilary Mantel and C.J. Sansom, but with elements of magic that echo the historical thrillers of Kate Mosse.”
—S.J. Parris, author of Heresy, Sacrilege, and Prophecy

THE CHALICE is a compelling and pacey time machine to the 16th Century. And when you're returned to the present, you'll have enjoyed an adventure and gained a new perspective on a past you'd wrongly thought to be a done deal.”
—Andrew Pyper, author of The Demonologist

“The novel is riveting, and provides fascinating insight into the lives of displaced nuns and priests during the tumultuous Tudor period. Bilyeau creates fully realized characters, with complex actions and emotions, driving the machinations of these historic personages.”
Romantic Times Book Reviews, Top Pick

THE CHALICE is an engrossing mix of the complicated politics of the Reformation with the magical elements of the Dominican order, and Joanna—fiery, passionate, determined to honor what she thinks God wants her to do—is a fascinating character. Fans of historical mysteries, Tudor politics and supernatural fiction will all be pleased by the broad scope, quick-moving plot and historical integrity of Bilyeau's second novel.”
Shelf Awareness

“I loved the story, the characters, and the rich detail of the novel, making you feel you are there with Joanna on every page. So much emotion and drama—as well as facts to keep you riveted from the first page. And surprise twists for even the most hard to please mystery fans! I loved it.”
—Bonnie Somerville, DuJour magazine

“Bilyeau paints a moving portrait of Catholicism during the Reformation and of reclusive, spiritual people adjusting to the world outside the cloister. This intriguing and suspenseful historical novel pairs well with C. J. Sansom's Dissolution (2003) and has the insightful feminine perspective of Brenda Rickman Vantrease's The Heretic's Wife (2010).”
Booklist

“Rarely have the terrors of Henry VIII's reformation been so exciting. Court intrigue, bloody executions, and haunting emotional entanglements create a heady brew of mystery and adventure that sweeps us from the devastation of the ransacked cloisters to the dangerous spy centers of London and the Low Countries, as ex-novice Joanna Stafford fights to save her way of life and fulfill an ancient prophecy, before everything she loves is destroyed.”
—C.W. Gortner, author of The Queen's Vow

“Superbly set in the political and religious turmoil between Henry VIII's queens Jane Seymour and Anne of Cleves, THE CHALICE is a dark, twisty thriller that I couldn't put down. Nancy Bilyeau's extensive historical research makes the sense of dread, danger, and mysticism permeating this era tangible. Ex-Dominican novice Joanna Stafford is an especially compelling and sympathetic heroine—I adored her!”
—Kris Waldherr, author of Doomed Queens

“An exciting and satisfying novel of historical suspense that cements Nancy Bilyeau as one of the genre's rising stars. The indominable Joanna Stafford is back with a cast of powerful and fascinating characters and a memorable story that is gripping while you are reading and haunting after you are done. Bravo! THE CHALICE is a fabulous read.”
—M.J. Rose, author of The Reincarnationist

THE CHALICE offers a fresh, dynamic look into Tudor England's most powerful, volatile personalities: Henry VIII, the Duke of Norfolk, Stephen Gardiner and Bloody Mary Tudor. Heroine and former nun Joanna Stafford is beautiful, bold and in lethal danger. Bilyeau writes compellingly of people and places that demand your attention and don't let you go even after the last exciting page.”
—Karen Harper, author of Mistress of Mourning

“[A] layered book of historical suspense.”
Kirkus Reviews

 

Praise for THE CROWN:

The Crown by Nancy Bilyeau“A stunning debut. One of the best historical novels I have ever read.”
—Alison Weir, historian and bestselling author of A Dangerous Inheritance and The Six Wives of Henry VIII

“Bilyeau deftly weaves extensive historical detail throughout, but the real draw of this suspenseful novel is its juicy blend of lust, murder, conspiracy, and betrayal.”
O, The Oprah Magazine

“When her cousin is condemned to death by King Henry VIII, daring young nun Joanna Stafford risks everything to be by her side.”
People Magazine

“An inventive thriller... A captivating heroine, Sister Joanna Stafford will have you eagerly following every step of the quest.”
Parade Magazine

“In her debut, THE CROWN, Bilyeau... delivers an engrossing thriller about a 16th-century Dominican novice caught up in royal intrigue... Her extensive historical research shines.”
Entertainment Weekly

“The right sort of action to lure fans of historical fiction: righteous nuns, evil bishops, real-world figures and a potential burning at the stake.”
Time Out New York

“A captivating thriller”
All You Magazine

“Part Da Vinci Code, Part The Other Boleyn Girl, it will keep you guessing until the very end.”
Woman's Day Magazine

“I found the view into life in the Cloister to be of great interest in this novel. Bilyeau captures the frustration of those who are told, suddenly and without choice, to change their faith.”
Historical Novels Review

“This brisk tale of Tudor intrigue will keep you up long past your bedtime”
Renaissance Magazine

“Nancy Bilyeau's polished, inventive debut has all the ingredients of the best historical fiction: a broad cast of characters, well-imagined settings, and vivid story-telling. . . . In Joanna Stafford, Bilyeau has given us a memorable character who is prepared to risk her life to save what she most values, while Stafford's desperate search for a lost religious relic will satisfy even the most ardent mystery fans.”
—Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches

THE CROWN by Nancy Bilyeau is an amazing first novel, filled with excitement, intrigue, espionage, and set against the background of one of the bloodiest periods of British history; the schism between Church and State. It's an action-packed tale of one nun's dangerous quest to discover the secrets of an ancient relic that dates back to the time of Christ.”
—Katherine Neville, author of The Eight

“The events of the period come to life in Nancy Bilyeau's dazzling and heart-wrenching novel. THE CROWN is evocative, provocative, and full of intriguing characters—a gorgeously written novel that has mystery and history, pathos and depth. This is a stunning debut about a woman whose spirit shines through and deeply moves the reader.”
—International Bestseller M.J. Rose

“Strong character development, realistic historical detail, and an atmosphere of pervasive tension coupled to a fast-paced plot make it compulsively readable.”
Booklist

“This fast-paced debut delivers Tudor intrigue and mystical thrills in one satisfying package—and leaves room for a sequel.”
Kirkus

“...will appeal to fans of Dan Brown and Philippa Gregory.”
Library Journal

 

© Nancy Bilyeau.